Soul Antagonist

When a man faces fear his soul, body and mind is tested. What he was born to seek, what he was born to achieve.  His true nature and who he is will become clear. Can he cope with that fear? Or will fear overtake him?

            My name is Kim Park, I am 14. I reside from North Korea. Specifically in a city named Sinpo in the province of South Hamgyong. Living in North Korea I feel as if I’m a senseless sheep I live in a society that is blinded by truth. Every day at school were taught that our leader Kim Jong Un is a great person, almost as if he’s some sort of demi god.

Even from a young age I could tell he was nothing but evil. My peers were brainwashed into thinking he was some god a savior. The things my teachers teach me in class I don’t even know whether to believe them or not. My peers are brainwashed and even my parents. This society is driven by fear. Talk bad about our government slip up on a word; say the wrong thing and you’ll suffer severe consequences.

Near the end of the semester there was a code red at my school. Apparently two people came into the school with guns and took 1 student from each class. In my classroom all the students were shaking and trembling violently with fear. My peers couldn’t even keep their composure they were shaking, some even puked. As myself my heart started beating almost as if I just ran a mile, I was breathing fast and my body was tensing up. My hands were shaking. All I thought about was my family and thoughts about death. To stop the shaking and to calm myself down I bite my arm as hard as I could until there was blood.

At the time we heard multiple gunshots in the hallways. As one of them approached our classroom he asked for a volunteer, someone to be taken as hostage. The perpetrator was wearing a black ski mask, black pants and a trench coat. He had two pistols. His body was covered in blood; the scent of death was radiating from his body. My teacher was instantly executed in front of us. Everyone in the classroom was screaming it was complete chaos, students were screaming at the sight of fresh blood. He asked one more time for a volunteer and that was when I courageously raised my hand.

Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear. I knew by raising my hand I would save another students life and that’s all the reason I needed. As I walked out of the classroom with a smile on my face, I was even laughing quite a bit, many students thought I was crazy but in my mind I was going to be free. This was my chance to be free from this society free from this life I didn’t want to live. Free from this curse that I was trapped in. It’s like I was a bird stuck in a cage or there was no other way of getting out from it other than death. I walked out of the classroom with a blindfold on and handcuffs behind my back.

I was on my knees in the school’s gymnasium aligned up with 9 other students. In the end I was nothing more than a senseless sheep living in a society full of lies. The blindfold was taken off. I took one more glimpse of the sky through the windows above me. The sunlight shun on my skin and I looked at my other peers and told them “we are free.” After I said felt the cold steel of the barrel placed up against the back of my head and I looked down in my last moments I thought of my parents, my friends, the things I never got to do in my life. Shortly afterwards I was shot. This was the end to the beginning of my new life. 




Leave a Reply.